## ICSMARTGRID 2022 10TH INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON SMART GRID June 27-29, 2022, Istanbul/Turkey A Hybrid (Real and Virtual) Conference



Dr. Chris Mi, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Bio: Dr. Mi is the Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at San Diego State University. He is a Fellow of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers). He is also the Director of the US Department of Energy-funded Graduate Automotive Technology Education (GATE) Center for Electric Drive Transportation at SDSU. He was previously a faculty member at the University of Michigan-Dearborn from 2001 to 2015, and an Electrical Engineer with General Electric from 2000 to 2001. He also served as the CTO of 1Power Solutions from 2008 to 2011. Dr. Mi received his Ph. D from the University of Toronto, Canada, in 2001.

Dr. Mi has won numerous awards, including the "Distinguished Teaching Award" and "Distinguished Research Award" from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, IEEE Region 4 "Outstanding Engineer Award," IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section "Outstanding Professional Award," and SAE "Environmental Excellence in Transportation (E2T) Award." He is the recipient of three Best Paper Awards from IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and the 2017 ECCE Student Demonstration Award. In 2019, he received the Inaugural IEEE Power Electronics Emerging Technology Award. In 2022, he received the Albert W. Johnson Lecture Award and named the Distinguished Professor, the highest honor for any given to a SDSU faculty member and only one award is given each year.

Dr. Mi has received over \$5.8 million in research funding since joining SDSU in 2015. He has published five books, 204 journal papers, 126 conference papers, and 25 issued and pending patents. He served as Editor-in-Chief, Area Editor, Guest Editor, and Associate Editor of multiple IEEE Transactions and international journals, as well as the General Chair of over ten IEEE international conferences.